If you need to limit the access to a node, you can use node dedication (also: node grouping).
Node dedication reserves a selected node for a selected user group. Only users from this group will be able to deploy new virtual machines to their dedicated node.
Did you know?
Behind the curtain, node dedication relies on Kubernetes taints and the
Node dedication consists of two parts (performed in any order or any number of times within the current limitations of the feature):
- Assign the group label to your users
- Assign the group label to a node
When a node is dedicated to a group of users, the following rules are set in place:
- Grouped users can deploy on any node that is not sandboxed.
- Dedicated nodes are available only to the respective user group.
- Ungrouped users can deploy only on non-dedicated nodes.
- Non-dedicated nodes are available to any user.
What happens to existing VMs?
VMs already deployed on the newly dedicated node are not affected and continue to work as expected. Their owners can still run and manage the VM's lifecycle, regardless of the user group.
- Node dedication is available only to administrator users.
- Node dedication is not available in the Orka Web UI.
- One user can belong up to one user group at a time.
- One node can be dedicated up to one user group at a time.
- Group names are case-sensitive.
- Scaling is not supported.
Choose how to implement node dedication in your workflows:
Updated 6 months ago